How to Check Income Tax Refund Status Online?

check income tax status online

It’s really painful if you have paid the Income Tax & filed your Returns for the year and you are not getting your refund amount. This procedure may take days, weeks or even months also and the tax payer is left with nothing to do than to wait for it. The payers are not common aware of their ITR status & time in which their refund amount would be sent to them.

But, the problem is solved now. The Income Tax Department has revealed the procedure of getting information about one’s tax refund status online. With the help of internet, you are now able to check your income tax refund status. Isn’t it great? In this article, you will read the whole about how to check the Income Tax Refund Status Online?

The refund banker scheme:

The TIN-NSDL website is providing income tax refund status online from assessment year 1998-99 to 2010-11. This process has been codenamed as “The Refund Banker Scheme”. However, this scheme is currently available in some cities of the country such as Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Ahmadabad, Hyderabad, Pune, Patna, Cochin, Trivandrum, Chandigarh, Allahabad and Kanpur. But, the department promises to introduce it in other cities soon. Please notify that the whole income tax refund procedure will be handled by State Bank of India (SBI).

Procedure to Check Income Tax Refund Status Online:

  • Log in to the NSDL website
  • Enter your Permanent Account Number (PAN) in the box. Select the assessment year for which you want to know the status and then click on submit. Note that any of your personal information will not be disclosed on the internet as the NSDL website is a secure website. So, need not to worry for it.
  • If your refund has already been sent to the refund banker i.e. to State Bank of India, the data will be something similar to the image shown below.
  • However, if State Bank of India has not received funds from the IT department, you will see the page as shown below.

Different Modes of Income Tax Refund Payment:

There are two options to receive the income tax refund payment under the Refund Banker Scheme. These are: by ECS or through post. In ECS mode, the refund will be credited into your bank account. So, one has to give accurate bank account number, bank name, branch code, IFSC code & MICR code when filing the IT returns. If the department found anything wrong with the above details, a cheque would be sent to you at your postal address by SBI.

Note: If you don’t receive your Income Tax Refund payment after one year of filing the IT returns, you may need to visit the Income Tax Department Office.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.